WTC Final: “When In Doubt, It’s Not Out”


Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag reacted to Shubman Gill’s controversial dismissal on Day 4 of the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) final at the Oval in London. Virender Sehwag took a dig at the third umpire, and said that the decision should go in favour of the batter.

Shubman Gill was dismissed for 18 runs in India’s second innings of the match at the stroke of tea. The right-handed batter edged the delivery in Scott Boland’s bowling in the eighth over. Cameron Green, who was stationed at the gully, dove to his left and completed a one-handed catch.

ICC World Test Championship Final | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

The on-field umpires referred the decision to the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough, as Green took the catch very close to the ground. Richard Kettleborough declared Gill out on the big screen after seeing multiple replays. The third umpire said that “fingers underneath the ball”.

Also read: Sri Lanka Names 15-Man Squad For ICC World Cup Qualifiers In Zimbabwe; Angelo Mathews Misses Out

Virender Sehwag took to Twitter to share his disappointment over Shubman Gill’s dismissal. Sehwag shared a picture of a blindfolded person, comparing it to the third umpire.

“Third umpire while making that decision of Shubman Gill. Inconclusive evidence. When in doubt, it’s Not Out,” Sehwag tweeted.

ICC World Test Championship Final | WTC Final 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023

Former Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Kamran Akmal criticized the third umpire’s decision, saying it wasn’t a clear catch.

“Shocking Decision by third umpire. It wasn’t a clear catch of @ShubmanGill,” he wrote.

Also read: Pakistan Set To Lose Hosting Of 2025 Champions Trophy; West Indies And USA Reportedly New Hosts- Reports

However, Cameron Green said that it was a clear catch, and the third umpire agreed with it too.

“I definitely thought I caught it, at that time, I think in the heat of the moment, I thought it was clean & threw it up and obviously showed no sign of any doubt and left to the third umpire & he agreed as well,” Green said.

Also read: ICC WTC Final: Australia Sensationally Accused Of Ball Tampering Against India

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Source link

Dodgers prospects Emmet Sheehan & Landon Knack earn promotions to AAA Oklahoma City – Dodgers Digest

Previous article

Virginia crowns new king, bludgeons Duke to force Game 3 • D1Baseball

Next article

You may also like

More in Cricket