Ashes 2023: “Pretty Special Getting A Five-For For England At Lord’s”


England captain Ben Stokes praised debutant fast bowler Josh Tongue and said that it was a special moment for him to get a five-for for England at the Lord’s Cricket Ground. Josh Tongue picked up his maiden five-wicket haul in a one-off Test against Ireland on Saturday, June 3.

England started their summer with a convincing 10-wicket victory in a Test match against Ireland. The Ben Stokes-led team played against Ireland in preparation for the much-anticipated Ashes series at home. Ollie Pope was awarded Player of the Match for his brilliant double hundred.

ICC World Test Championship Final | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

Josh Tongue went wicketless in Ireland’s first innings despite bowling well. The 25-year-old ran through the opposition’s middle order in the second innings, picking up five wickets for 66 runs. The Worcestershire pacer dismissed Fionn Hand on Day 3 of the Test match to complete the milestone.

Also read: Shubman Gill Will Struggle Like Anyone In English Conditions: Legendary Captain Explains Opener’s Weakness

Showed How Versatile He Can Be – Ben Stokes

Ben Stokes said that he was impressed with Tongue’s performance, adding that he performed well as the third seamer in the bowling attack.

“Tongue came in and performed really well, he’d performed that third seamer role and showed how versatile he can be. Something we’re looking for in a seam bowler. Keep it simple for everyone. Pretty special getting a five-for for England at Lord’s,” Stokes said.

ICC World Test Championship Final | WTC Final 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023

Josh Tongue was included in England’s 16-member squad for the first two Test matches of the Ashes 2023 series. Tongue was one of the seventh pacers in the bowling attack for the much-anticipated series.

England will host the Ashes series, with the first Test scheduled to begin on June 16 at Edgbaston in Birmingham. The second test will be held at Lord’s Cricket Ground, the third at Headingley in Leeds, the fourth at Emirates Old Trafford in Manchester, and the final match at Kennington Oval in London.

Also read: Breaking: David Warner Announces Retirement Plans Ahead Of ICC WTC Final Against India

England Squad For First Two Ashes Tests:

Ben Stokes (c), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.

Also read: South Africa Legend Expresses Surprise Over Hardik Pandya Giving Up On Test Cricket

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Source link

5 New Openers That IPL 2023 Gave To Team India

Previous article

RE vs KAR Dream11 Prediction Today Match, Castle Lite Series, 2nd OD

Next article

You may also like

More in Cricket